Facebook Pixel

EU opens borders: Ukraine was included in the "green" zone

Entry to the EU: Ukraine got on the green list. Photo: pixabay

Entry to the EU: Ukraine got on the green list. Photo: pixabay

The EU Council can include Ukraine in the list of third countries that are allowed to enter the European Union. The list will be updated by July 18, and then it will become clear whether Ukrainians will be able to freely cross the EU borders.

This was announced by Prime Minister Denys Shmyhal.

«The EU has included Ukraine in the so-called "green list" and recommends that travel restrictions be lifted for Ukrainians. The final decisions are up to the Member States.»

Denys Shmyhal

Denys Shmyhal

The Prime Minister of Ukraine

This decision of the Council of Europe was also welcomed by Minister of Foreign Affairs Dmytro Kuleba. In particular, the MFA reminded that including Ukraine in the "green" list does not automatically mean the possibility of entry into the territory of all EU Member States.

The EU Council decision is only advisory in nature for the Member States that make the final decision on including third countries in the national "green lists".

However, in practice, a number of EU countries have already allowed Ukrainians to enter their territory under certain conditions, such as vaccinations.

After the last update of the "green" countries list on July 1 included:

  • Canada;
  • Armenia;
  • Azerbaijan;
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina;
  • Brunei;
  • Jordan;
  • Kosovo;
  • Moldova;
  • Montenegro;
  • Qatar;
  • Saudi Arabia.

To get on the green list of EU countries, the state must record less than 100 new cases of coronavirus per 100,000 population within 14 days.


Also on topic

All News